Staff photo by Robin Rudd / Tyner's Nehemiah Bloodsaw pulls in a steal during a TSSSAA Class 2A state semifinal against Milan on March 17 at Middle Tennessee State University.

Seven players from the Chattanooga area have been named to the Tennessee Sports Writers Association boys' basketball all-state teams in their respective classifications.

The all-state list includes Tyner junior Nehemiah Bloodsaw and Brainerd junior Donivon Thomas in Class 2A, East Hamilton senior Cade Pendleton in 3A, Boyd Buchanan junior Jacob Shockley and Silverdale Baptist sophomore Brett Wright in Division II-A, and McCallie senior David Craig and Baylor senior Al Peciulis in DII-AA.

Bloodsaw averaged 16.5 points, 5.5 rebounds and 3.2 assists in helping Tyner reach the state semifinals, and Thomas was Brainerd's defensive anchor as the Panthers advanced to the state tournament, averaging 10.5 points, 11 rebounds and four blocks.

Pendleton, who has signed with the University of California San Diego, averaged 16 points, 12 rebounds and four blocks for the Hurricanes. Shockley averaged 16 points and eight rebounds for the Buccaneers, and Wright averaged 20.4 points for the Seahawks. Craig, a Mercer University signee, averaged 11 points and 7.5 rebounds for the Blue Tornado, and Peciulis averaged 16 points and eight rebounds for the Red Raiders.

Photo Gallery

2021-22 TSWA boys' basketball all-state selections


Class 1A

Zach Amonett (Pickett County), Roderick Robinson (Middleton), Grant Strong (Clay County), Taylor Groves (East Robertson), Jason Britton (North Greene), Devin Jackson (Memphis Academy of Health Sciences), Geoffrey Shaw (Memphis Academy of Health Sciences), Jordan McCullum (Harriman), Jason Anglin (West Carroll), Demarkus Kee (Peabody), Cadon Buckles (Hampton), Chaunterrion Ward (Memphis Academy of Science and Engineering).

Class 2A

Gavin Burleson (Summertown), Gus Davenport (Cannon County), Jarrod Taylor (East Nashville), Nehemiah Bloodsaw (Tyner), Donivon Thomas (Brainerd), Colby Raymer (Kingston), Jahvin Carter (Alcoa), Ty Glasper (Gatlinburg-Pittman), Caleb Jackson (Power Center Academy), P.J. Hillman (Power Center Academy), Eric Steward (Douglass), Jaylen Jones (East Nashville).

Class 3A

Ja'Kobi Gillespie (Greeneville), Ericko Sain II (Jackson South Side), JaSteven Walker (Fayette-Ware), Seth Grandberry (Millington), Reid Satterfield (Greeneville), Jackson Garner (Clinton), Trey Morrow (Scott), Tyler Lee (Fulton), Cade Pendleton (East Hamilton), DJ Genesy (Jackson North Side), Dylan Bartley (Sullivan East), Cade Capps (Stone Memorial).

Class 4A

Elijah Bredwood (Bearden), Amarr Knox (Bartlett), Brandon Miller (Cane Ridge), Jarred Hall (Lebanon), JJ Wheat (Clarksville), J.R. Jacobs (Bartlett), Kristian Spencer (Whitehaven), K.J. Tenner (Cordova), Micah Simpson (Morristown East), Dillon Atwell (Farragut), Jackson Browder (Dobyns-Bennett), Eli Rice (Beech).

Division II-A

Tyler Byrd (Tipton-Rosemark), Daniel Egbuniwe (First Assembly Christian School), Eddie Ricks III (Clarksville Academy), T.J. Thomas (First Assembly Christian School), Christian Gilliland (Northpoint Academy), Hayden Ledbetter (Lausanne Collegiate), Jose Rodriguez (Concord Christian), Trey Trull (Sacred Heart), Brett Wright (Silverdale Baptist), Jacob Shockley (Boyd Buchanan), Luke Carter (Christian Academy of Knoxville), Jayden Jones (Goodpasture).

Division II-AA

B.J. Edwards (Knoxville Catholic), Chandler Jackson (Christian Brothers), Tyler Tanner (Brentwood Academy), Malik Dia (Ensworth), Blue Cain (Knoxville Catholic), Al Peciulis (Baylor), David Craig (McCallie), Hunter Pratt (Christian Brothers), Cooper Haynes (Briarcrest Christian), Curtis Givens III (Memphis University School), Zion Owens (Christian Brothers), Lukas Walls (Webb School of Knoxville).

Contact Stephen Hargis at or 423-757-6293. Follow him on Twitter @StephenHargis.