Times Free Press wins journalism awards

Stephen Hargis, from left, David Cook, Maura Friedman

The Chattanooga Times Free Press has been honored with several journalism awards.

The newspaper received four awards from the Tennessee Sports Writers Association.

Sports Editor Stephen Hargis received first-place awards in two categories - Writer of the Year and Best Prep Writer.

"Challenging subjects plus soulful, insightful writing and solid reporting made this writer an easy winner," judges stated in the Writer of the Year citation.

Columnist Mark Wiedmer placed second in the Best Columnist category.

Designer Ian Scot Young received first place in the Best Individual Layout category and Jamie Poole placed second in that category.

In another contest, multimedia reporter Maura Friedman received a Green Eyeshade Best of Division award for her photography in a project on suicides.

In all, the Times Free Press received nine Green Eyeshade awards, including five first-place awards. The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, also owned by WEHCO Media Inc., received the Green Eyeshade Award, the contest's top recognition.

In another contest, columnist David Cook received a national award for his columns on standardized testing.

Cook received the Education Writers Association award for opinion writing.

Cook's writing "goes far beyond just harping on testing and its shortcomings [to] show who is benefitting from it and what is being sacrificed," comments from the judges stated. " This is writing with heart, for the regular reader as well as the educator."

The Society for News Design recognized the newspaper with an Award of Excellence in its World's Best Designed competition.

The newspaper won in the category of Combination Print and Digital for its print and web design of "The Cruelest Equation," about a child with a rare disease called IPEX.

The awards recognized staff members Matt McClane, Alaina Akens, Doug Strickland, Mary Helen Miller, Ken Barrett and Friedman.