Young on doorstep of becoming first Alabama quarterback to win Heisman

Crimson Tide photos / Alabama football coach Nick Saban and Crimson Tide sophomore quarterback Bryce Young share a laugh after last Saturday's 41-24 defeat of Georgia in the SEC championship game.

Alabama's quarterback history contains the legendary likes of Bart Starr, Joe Namath and Ken Stabler, as well as those who didn't leave an NFL legacy but were effective in college, such as Steadman Shealy, Jay Barker and AJ McCarron.

Three former Crimson Tide quarterbacks - Jalen Hurts, Tua Tagovailoa and Mac Jones - led their respective Philadelphia Eagles, Miami Dolphins and New England Patriots to victories on consecutive weekends last month, but none of the above ever won the Heisman Trophy.

Bryce Young has that opportunity Saturday night as the overwhelming favorite for college football's top individual award.

"It obviously would be a huge blessing to follow the great quarterbacks that we've had and to have this opportunity," Young said this week. "It's something I don't take for granted, but I also understand the reason behind it, and that's us as a unit and us as a team.