Chattanooga Mayor Tim Kelly appoints interim department heads

Staff photo by Troy Stolt / Chattanooga Mayor Tim Kelly speaks during a ceremony to dedicate the 10th street Mural Art Project on Thursday, June 17, 2021 in downtown Chattanooga, Tenn.

Chattanooga Mayor Tim Kelly announced interim department heads and administrators this week who will serve in the restructured city government as the new administration seeks to hire permanent staff.

The interim appointees will serve in their respective roles beginning July 1 through the duration of the "practical transition" period, according to a spokesperson for the mayor.

That period will include the time it takes the administration to finish its first budget, restructuring of departments and hiring of permanent administrators.

According to the mayor's office, the city will consider both internal and outside candidates for each job before making final appointments.

> Interim Administrator of Public Works: Bill Payne

> Interim Deputy Administrator of Public Works: Donald Stone

> Interim Deputy Administrator of Transportation in Public Works: Blythe Bailey

> Interim Deputy Administrator of Parks & Outdoors: Jason McKinney

> Interim Chief Information Technology Officer: Brent Messer

> Interim Deputy Chief Information Technology Officer: Koren Sapp

> Interim Chief Human Resources Officer: Shea Jefferson

> Interim Deputy Administrator of City Planning: Eric Asboe

> Interim Purchasing Director: Debbie Talley

> Interim Administrator of Community Development: Tony Sammons

> Interim Director of the Regional Planning Authority: Karen Rennich, effective July 15.

Police Chief David Roddy announced this month that he will retire in July. Deputy Chief Erick Tucker will assume the role of interim chief after Roddy's retirement while Kelly's administration seeks a replacement.

According to the mayor's office, 15 administrators left or will not be reappointed by Mayor Kelly.

Contact Sarah Grace Taylor at or 423-757-6416. Follow her on Twitter @_sarahgtaylor.