Photo Contributed by NAACP / Patricia Shackleford Gray

Earlier this month, the Chattanooga-Hamilton County NAACP honored its Ruby Hurley Image Award winners, according to a news release.

The following winners were announced at the 33rd annual event, held Nov. 11:

— Ambassador Award: Dr. Juanita Ingram.

— Educator of the Year: Principal Crystal Sorrells.

— News Anchor of the Year: LaTrice Currie.

— Through the Storm Award: Hannah Martin.

— Civil Service Award: Sgt. David Young (Chattanooga Police Department), Lt. Charles Lowery III (Hamilton County Sheriff's Office) and Senior Firefighter Kenneth Martin (Chattanooga Fire Department).

— Reggie White Athletic Award: Christian Doty (senior, Ooltewah High School) and McKenna Hayes (senior, East Hamilton High School), John Craw Jr. (freshman, Tennessee Tech University) and Raegyn Connelly, (freshman, Wake Forest University).

— ACT-SO Award: DeSean Aaron and Chelsea Brewster.

— Business Person of the Year: Clemmie Benjamin.

— Civic Engagement Award: Marie Rachel Mott and Cameron "C-Grimey" Williams.

— Youth Activist Award: Kaylea Moore, Timetrius Lansden and Jaylan Sims (all of Tyner Academy).

— Ruby Hurley Humanitarian of the Year: Herbert "Book" McCray.

— James R. Mapp Citizen of the Year: David Cook (Times Free Press journalist).

— Chattanooga NAACP President's Award: Patricia Shackleford Gray.

The group also recognized the work of members who died this year including:

Chris Ramsey, for his work on the Minority Health Fair.

Sherman Matthews, lead plaintiff of the Brian A. lawsuit and president of Unity Group.

— The Rev. Paul McDaniel, founder of Unity Group and pastor emeritus Second Missionary Baptist Church.

— Compiled by Brandi Dixon